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Summary of Changes and Additions 
 
The Case Book Supplement for 2024 is based on actions taken by the 
World Sailing Racing Rules Committee during the World Sailing Annual 
Conference in 2023. The supplement includes two new cases, Cases 149 
and 150. In addition, the World Sailing Racing Rules Committee voted to 
withdraw Case 145 ‘for revision’.  
In The Case Book on the World Sailing website, the two new cases have 
been added and Case 145 has been removed and replaced by the note 
shown below. 

 

 

CASE 145 

Withdrawn for Revision 

Reasons for withdrawing Case 145: The World Sailing Racing Rules 
Committee plans to make submissions proposing changes to the definitions 
Start and Finish, as well as a possible addition to the definition Sail the 
Course (or, alternatively, a new case) that describes what objects constrain 
the string after it has been drawn taut. Case 145 should then be rewritten to 
be consistent with those additions. 

 

CASE 149 
Rule 21.2, Starting Errors; Taking Penalties; Backing a Sail 
Rule 23.2, Interfering with Another Boat 
Rule 44.2, Penalties at the Time of an Incident: One-Turn and Two-

Turns Penalties 

After getting well clear, a boat making penalty turns that 
interrupts her turns for just the time she needs to comply 
with rule 21.2 has made her penalty turns ‘promptly’. When 
a boat interferes with a boat taking a penalty, she breaks 
rule 23.2 if she was not sailing her proper course at that 
time. 



 

Facts 

Boats A and B were on a beat to windward and well outside the zones of 
the marks that began, bounded or ended the leg of the course on which they 
were sailing. Boat B was involved in an incident with boat C, a third boat 
not shown in the diagram. Immediately after the incident with C, when B 
was at position 1, all boats, other than A, that were racing were either 
further up the windward leg than B or were far enough away from B that 
they could not have interfered with B if she took a Two-Turns Penalty.  

At position 1, B bore off to begin to make the turns required for a Two-
Turns Penalty. Between positions 2 and 3, A tacked onto a close-hauled 
starboard-tack course. At position 4, when A completed her tack, B was on 
a collision course with A. Between positions 4 and 5, as shown in the 
diagram, B luffed and then resumed bearing off. After position 5, B turned 
clockwise until she had completed a gybe, and (not shown in the diagram) 
she continued her clockwise turn until she had made a tack, a second gybe 
and a second tack.  

 

Question 1 

Did B break any rule? 

Answer 1 
No.  
From position 1, when B began to bear way, through position 6, rule 21.2 
required B to keep clear of A. Between positions 1 and 4 and after position 
5, B kept clear of A while bearing away. Between positions 4 and 5, while 
the boats were on collision courses, B kept clear of A by luffing. Therefore, 
B complied with rule 21.2. 



 

Question 2 

Did B satisfy the conditions stated in rule 44.2 for a Two-Turns Penalty? 

Answer 2 

Yes. 

Rule 44.2 requires a boat that takes a Two-Turns Penalty to satisfy two 
conditions.  

First she must get ‘well clear of other boats as soon after the incident as 
possible’. B satisfied that requirement at position 1 because  

 B had no basis for expecting that A would tack at position 2, and, if 
A had not tacked, she would not have sailed into the space in which 
B was making her turns; and 

 no other boat racing was in a position to interfere with B while she 
was making her penalty turns.  

The second condition was that she ‘promptly’ make two turns in the same 
direction, each turn including one tack and one gybe. Between positions 4 
and 5, while B was making her turns, she interrupted her turns for just long 
enough to enable her to keep clear of A as she was required to do by rule 
21.2. Immediately after she kept clear of A, B resumed her penalty turns. 
Therefore, B made her penalty turns ‘promptly’ and, by doing so, she 
satisfied rule 44.2’s second condition. 

Question 3 

Did A break any rule? 

Answer 3 
The answer depends on whether or not A was sailing her proper course 
when B needed to luff to avoid colliding with A. 

From positions 1 through 6, B was taking a penalty and, therefore, A was 
the right-of-way boat under rule 21.2. No rule in Section A applied 
between them (see the preamble to Section D).  

While B was taking her penalty, A ‘interfered’ with B as evidenced by B’s 
need to luff to avoid colliding with A after position 4. 

If A was sailing her proper course, then rule 23.2 did not apply between A 
and B. B was required by rule 21.2 to keep clear of A, and B did so by 
luffing. When A changed course from close-hauled on port tack to close-
hauled on starboard tack, she was a right-of-way boat changing course and, 
therefore, required by rule 16.1 to give B room to keep clear. A gave B that 
room, so A broke no rule. 



 

If A was not sailing her proper course, then rule 23.2 applied between A 
and B, and, because A interfered with B, A broke rule 23.2. 
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CASE 150 
Definitions, Clear Astern and Clear Ahead; Overlap 
Rule 19.1, Room to Pass an Obstruction: When Rule 19 Applies 
Rule 19.2, Room to Pass an Obstruction: Giving Room at an 

Obstruction 

An interpretation of the terms ‘at’, ‘inside/outside’ and 
‘overlap’ as used in rule 19. 

Question 1 

Rule 19.1 applies between two boats ‘at’ an obstruction. When are boats 
‘at’ an obstruction? 

Answer 1 

Boats are ‘at’ an obstruction when they are near it and the obstruction is 
influencing the course of one or both of them. 

Facts for Questions 2, 3 and 4 

Boat W is running on starboard tack parallel to a breakwater which is about 
one length away on her starboard side. Boat L is on starboard tack, to 
leeward and overlapped with W, and approaching the breakwater. Boats W 
and L are on a collision course. 

 
Question 2 

If L is broad reaching and approaching the obstruction as shown in the 
diagram for Question 2, does rule 19 apply; and if so, which boat is the 
‘outside boat’? 



 

Answer 2 

Because the wall is influencing W’s course and, therefore, her ability to 
keep clear of L, the boats are ‘at’ the obstruction as that term is used in rule 
19.1. Therefore, rule 19 applies. 

Because L, the right-of-way boat under rule 11, is choosing to pass the 
obstruction on her starboard side, a boat overlapped with her on her 
starboard side is an ‘inside boat’. Therefore, W is the ‘inside boat’ and L is 
the ‘outside boat’ and, under rule 19.2(b), W is entitled to room from L to 
pass between L and the breakwater. 

Question 3 

Does the answer to Question 2 change if L is close-hauled approaching the 
breakwater as shown in the diagram for Question 3? 

Answer 3 

Yes. W and L are overlapped because they are on the same tack and neither 
of them is clear astern of the other (see the definition Clear Astern and 
Clear Ahead; Overlap). Because L, the right-of-way boat, is choosing to 
pass the obstruction on her port side (see rule 19.2(a)), a boat on her port 
side is an ‘inside boat’ and a boat on her starboard side is an ‘outside boat’. 
Therefore, W is the outside boat and must give L room between her and the 
obstruction under rule 19.2(b) as well as keep clear of her under rule 11. 

Question 4 

Does the answer to Question 2 change if L is approaching the breakwater 
at a ninety-degree angle to it as shown in the diagram for Question 4? 

Answer 4 

Yes. Rule 19.2(a) gives L the right to choose to pass the breakwater on her 
port side or on her starboard side. No rule requires L to inform W of her 
choice. At the moment shown in the diagram, L’s course is directly at the 
obstruction (ninety degrees to it), and it is not possible to determine 
whether she is an ‘inside’ or an ‘outside boat’. Rule 19 applies, but while L 
continues on that course no part of rule 19 creates any obligations on either 
boat. Rule 11 still applies and requires W to keep clear of L. 

At some time after the moment shown in the diagram it will be necessary 
for L to either luff or bear away to avoid colliding with the breakwater. If L 
bears away, then the answer to this question is the same as Answer 2. If L 
luffs, then the answer to this question is the same as Answer 3. 



 

Facts for Question 5 

In all three diagrams, reposition W’s sails so that she is shown sailing 
downwind on port tack instead of starboard tack. Change W’s label to ‘P’, 
and L’s label to ‘S’. 

Question 5 

Do the answers to Questions 2, 3 and 4 change? 

Answer 5 

Answer 2 does not change, except that the relevant right-of-way rule is rule 
10 instead of rule 11. 
Answers 3 and 4 change. In each of these two situations, S and P are on 
opposite tacks and, because S is not sailing more than ninety degrees from 
the true wind, they are not ‘overlapped’ (see the definition Clear Astern 
and Clear Ahead; Overlap). Therefore, rule 19.2(b) does not apply between 
them. Rule 10 applies and requires P to keep clear of S. 
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