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Summary of Changes and Additions 
 
The Case Book Supplement for 2023 consists of one new case, Case 148. It is 
based on action taken during the World Sailing Annual Conference in 2022. The 
new case has been added to The Case Book on the website. 

 

 

CASE 148 
Definitions, Finish 
Definitions, Sail the Course 
Rule 28, Sailing the Race 
Rule 61.1(a)(3), Informing the Protestee 

When a boat crosses the finishing line from the course side 
twice, her second crossing constitutes her finish if, at all 
times between her first and second crossing, her actions are 
consistent with continuing to sail the course 

Assumed Facts 

The course required boats to start, leave mark 1 to port, leave mark 2 to 
port, and finish. Boat X started, left mark 1 to port, and then sailed to the 
finishing line and crossed it from the course side. As X sailed from mark 1 
to the finishing line she passed mark 2 to starboard. After crossing the 
finishing line, at position 7, X eased her main sheet, luffed her sail and 
stopped for 30 seconds. Then she sailed to mark 2, left it to port and 
crossed the finishing line from the course side a second time.  



 

 

Boat Y saw X pass mark 2 to starboard and protested her alleging that she 
had not sailed the course as required by rule 28.1. Y’s first opportunity to 
inform X that she was protesting her was after both boats had returned to 
shore, and Y informed X of her protest at that time. The protest committee 
decided that Y’s protest met the requirements of rule 61.1(a)(3).  

Question 1 

When did X finish? 

Answer 1 

Boat X satisfied the first sentence of the definition Finish when her bow 
crossed the finishing line for the first time, shortly before position 6. The 
second sentence of the definition contains three conditions, (a), (b) and (c). 
If one of those three conditions applies, X’s first crossing of the finish line 
does not qualify as her finish.  

X did not take a penalty at or near the finishing line and, therefore, she did 
not satisfy condition (a).  

Boat X had made an error in sailing the course when she failed to leave 
mark 2 to port, which she corrected by sailing to mark 2 and rounding it to 
port. The error in sailing the course that X made was made at mark 2, not at 
the finishing line. Therefore, X did not satisfy condition (b).  

Condition (c) is satisfied if, at all times after a boat’s first crossing of the 
line, her actions are consistent with continuing ‘to sail the course’.  



 

There are situations in which a boat can be stopped and still be taking 
actions consistent with continuing ‘to sail the course’ while she is stopped. 
Here are examples of such situations: a boat stops because she capsizes and 
remains stopped until her crew rights the boat; a member of a boat’s crew 
falls overboard and the boat stops to recover the person; a boat stops while 
repairing a piece of equipment. 

The assumed facts in this case state that X stopped at position 7 for 30 
seconds. The protest committee must find the relevant facts and then reach 
a conclusion as to whether or not X continued to sail the course. This will 
mean deciding why X stopped at position 7. If X stopped because her crew 
thought they had finished when they first crossed the line and then, 30 
seconds later, she resumed sailing the course when the crew realized that 
they had failed to leave mark 2 to port, then X was not continuing ‘to sail 
the course’ during those 30 seconds. However, if at all times between her 
first and second crossing of the line, her actions were consistent with 
sailing the course, then she meets exception (c) and she finished when she 
crossed the line for the second time.  

Question 2 

What race score should X receive? 

Answer 2 

If X finished the first time she crossed the finishing line, then she broke 
rule 28.1 by failing to leave mark 2 to port before she finished. In that case 
the protest against her by Y should be upheld, and X should be scored 
DSQ.  

If X finished the second time she crossed the line, then she corrected her 
error in sailing the course (as permitted by rule 28.2) by sailing to mark 2 
and rounding it, and she should be scored points based on her finishing place 
when she crossed the line the second time (see the table in rule A4). 
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