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Two boats approach the windward mark (to be left to port) on opposite tacks. The port 

tack boat (P) tacks inside the two-length zone at one boat length from the mark. After P 

passes head to wind but before arriving on a close-hauled course, the starboard tack boat 

(S) has to alter course to windward to avoid contact. S does not luff above a close-hauled 

course. 

S protests and later lodges a valid protest. 

QUESTION 1 

What will the decision be? 

ANSWER 1 

After P passes head to wind she is entitled to room under rule 18.2(a) and she must keep 

clear under rule 13.While those two rules are in conflict rule 18.2(a) takes precedence. If P 

takes more room than needed to tack around the mark promptly in a seamanlike way, she 

loses the protection of rule 18 and the case must be judged solely on her compliance under 

rule 13. 

QUESTION 2 

What would the answer be if S if required to sail above a close-hauled course to avoid P 

when P completes her tack? 

ANSWER 2 

Once P reaches a close-hauled course rule 18.3 applies. If S must sail above close-hauled to 

avoid her, or if S has sailed above close hauled to avoid P and needs to remain above close 

hauled at the time the tack is completed, P breaks rule 18.3 and should be scored DSQ. 

2 艇が反対のタックで風上マーク（ポートに見て通過する）に近づいている。ポー

ト・タックの艇（P）がマークから 1 艇身の 2 艇身ゾーンの内側でタックした。P

は風位を越えしたが、クロースホールドのコースに達する前に、スターボード・タ

ックの艇（S）が接触を回避するために風上へコースを変更せざるをえなかった。S

はクロースホールドより風上へはラフをしていない。 

S は抗議し、その後有効な抗議を提出した。 

質問 1 

判決はどうなるか？  

回答 1 

P は風位を越えた後に、規則 18.2 (a) に基づくルームに対する権利が与えられてお

り、また規則 13 に基づき避けていなければならない。これらの 2 規則は矛盾する

が、規則 18.2 (a) が優先する。P はシーマンらしいやり方で速やかにマーク周辺で

タックするために必要とする以上にルームを取った場合には、規則 18 の保護を受

けられず、ケースは単に P の規則 13 の順守に基づき判決されなければならない。 

質問 2 

P がタックを完了したときに、S が P を回避するためにクロースホールドのコース

より上に帆走する必要がある場合には、回答はどうなるか？  

回答 2 

いったん P がクロースホールドのコースに到達した場合には、規則 18.3 が適用さ

れる。S が P を回避するためにクロースホールドより風上に帆走し、Ｐのタックが

完了した時点でクロースホールドより上のままでいる必要がある場合には、P は規

則 18.3 に違反し、DSQ と得点記録されるべきである。 

Expiry date: 1 February 2008 有効期限：2008 年 2 月 1 日 
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質問 
QUESTION 

May a race committee or protest committee satisfy its obligation under RRS 61.1 to notify 

the boat of a protest by informing the boat's coach, rules advisor or other representative? 

ANSWER 

When a boat has registered a coach, rules advisor or other representative or when a person 

is clearly representing a boat, the race committee or protest committee complies with its 

obligation in rule 61.1(b) or (c) to inform the boat of the protest when it informs the 

representative. 

レース委員会またはプロテスト委員会は、艇のコーチ、ルール・アドバイザーまた

はその他の代理人に知らせることにより抗議を艇に伝えるという規則 61.1 に基づ

く義務を満たすことができるか？  

回答 

艇がコーチ、ルール・アドバイザーまたはその他の代理人を登録していた場合、ま

たはその者が明らかに艇を代表している場合、レース委員会またはプロテスト委員

会は、その代理人に知らせた場合、抗議を艇に伝えるという規則 61.1 (b) または (c) 

の義務に従っている。 

有効期限：2008 年 2 月 1 日 
Expiry: 1 February 2008 
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BACKGROUND 
背景 

Race 6 of a 9 race series was started using the Z flag penalty (RRS 30.2). Several boats 
were identified in the triangle formed by the ends of the starting line and the first mark in 
the minute before the starting signal. The race was abandoned after three legs. On shore the 
race committee posted a notice that race 6 would not be resailed and that race 7 would be 
sailed the following morning (this notice was posted after the deadline for posting changes 
in the schedule). The race committee’s reason for skipping Race 6 was that it did not wish 
to score the identified boats with a 20% penalty because it did not believe the race was fair. 
The identified boats were scored in Race 7 without a 20% penalty. 

There was nothing in the sailing instructions or notice of race relevant to this issue. The 
schedule in the notice of race and the sailing instructions stated that up to three races per 
day would be sailed. 

The final results showed Race 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7 and so on (i.e., there was no Race 6 shown). 

QUESTIONS 

1)  Must races be sailed in numerical order? 
2)  Was the notice posted by the race committee a change in the schedule? 
3)  Was race 7 actually the resail of race 6? 
4)  Should the identified boats been scored with a 20% penalty in race 7? 
5)  Would the answer be different if the jury had abandoned the race in response to a 

request for redress? 
6)  Would the answer be different if the race committee had abandoned the race ashore 

(i.e., after the race had been completed) after consideration of the issues stated in rule 
32.1? 

ANSWERS 

1)  Must races be sailed in numerical order? 
No. 
However, such a race committee decision may be grounds for a request for redress by 
a boat and review by the protest committee. 

9 レースのシリーズのレース 6 が、Z 旗ペナルティー（RRS 30.2）を用いてスター

トした。数艇が、スタート信号前の 1 分間にスタート・ラインの両端と最初のマー

クとで作られる三角形内に特定された。そのレースは 3 レグの後中止された。陸上

にて、レース委員会は、レース 6 は再レースせず、レース 7 が翌朝行われるとの通

告を掲示した（この通告はスケジュールの変更を掲示する期限後に掲示された）。

レース委員会のレース 6 をとばすことについての理由は、そのレースが公正であっ

たとは考えられないので、特定された艇に対して 20 % のペナルティーを得点記録

したくないとのことであった。 

帆走指示書にもレース公示にもこのことに関連することの記載は何もなかった。レ

ース公示と帆走指示書中のスケジュールは、1 日当たり 3 レースまで行うと記載さ

れていた。 

最終結果には、レース 1、2、3、4、5、7 などが示されてあった（すなわち、レー

ス 6 は示されていなかった）。 

質問 

1) レースは番号順に行われなければならないのか？ 
2） レース委員会が掲示した通告はスケジュールの変更であったのか？ 
3） レース 7 は実際にはレース 6 の再レースであったのか？ 
4） 特定された艇はレース 7 で 20 % のペナルティーを得点記録されるべきであっ

たのか？ 
5） ジュリーが救済の要求に応じてレースを中止した場合には、回答は異なるの

か？ 
6) レース委員会が、規則 32.1 に記載されている事項を考慮後陸上にて（すなわ

ち、レース完了後）そのレースを中止した場合には、回答は異なるのか？ 

回答 

1) レースは番号順に行われなければならないのか？ 

行わなくてもよい。 
ただし、このようなレース委員会の決定が艇による救済の要求の理由になるこ

とがあり、プロテスト委員会により見直される。 
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In cases when a regatta or series consists of the same type of races, it is the usual 
practice, recommended by RRS Appendix L (Guide to Sailing Instructions), and 
accepted as the best practice, to run and number the races consecutively. It causes 
unnecessary confusion among competitors, media and the public not to. 
The panel acknowledges that there are series where different types of races are 
scheduled, for instance, a course race followed by a long distance race. Given the 
same situation, a race committee’s decision to abandon and not resail a course race, 
then sail a scheduled long distance race, would be appropriate. 

2)  Was the notice posted by the race committee a change in the schedule? 
No. In this situation, the NoR and Sis only stated that racing would occur on that day. 
The only issue a protest committee might be asked to consider is if a boat deserves 
redress because of the race committee’s decision. 
If either the NoR or SIs stated that race 7 would be sailed on the day it was sailed, the 
notice was simply information to competitors and could be posted at any time. 

3)  Was race 7 actually the resail of race 6? 
No. 

4)  Should the identified boats been scored (by the race committee) with a 20% penalty in 
race 7? 
No. 

5)  Would the answer be different if the jury had abandoned the race (7) in response to a 
request for redress? 
It is the experience of the panel members that it is unlikely a protest committee would 
decide that if boats were entitled to redress, the fairest arrangement for all affected 
boats would be to abandon a completed race. In this situation, there was a race and the 
race committee had finishes for all the boats. Most protest committee would decide 
that the fairest arrangement possible was to order the offending boats rescored with 
the rule 30.2 penalty applied to the next race. 

6)  Would the answer be different if the race committee had abandoned the race after it 
had been completed after consideration of the issues stated in rule 32.1? 
Such a race committee decision may be grounds for a request for redress by a boat and 
review by the protest committee. 

Expiry: 1 February 2008 

レガッタやシリーズが同じタイプのレースからなる場合、レースを連続して実

施し、番号を付けることは、一般的慣習であり、RRS 付則 L（帆走指示書ガイ

ド）により推奨されており、最もよい慣習として受け入れられている。そうし

ないと競技者、メディア、一般人の間で不必要な混乱を引き起こす。 
本パネルは、異なるタイプのレースが予定されるシリーズがあることを知って

いる。例えば、コース・レースに続く長距離レース。同じ状況であれば、コー

ス・レースを中止し、再レースせずに、その後予定された長距離レースを行う

というレース委員会の決定は適切であろう。 

2） レース委員会が掲示した通告はスケジュールの変更であったのか？ 
変更ではない。この状況では、レース公示と帆走指示書は、その日に行われる

レースのみを記載していた。プロテスト委員会が検討するために求められるか

もしれない唯一の事項は、艇がレース委員会の決定を理由に救済を受けるに足

るかということである。 
レース公示か帆走指示書のいずれかにレース７がレースのされた日に行われ

ると記載されていた場合には、通告は競技者への単なる情報であり、いつでも

掲示することができた。 

3） レース 7 は実際にはレース 6 の再レースであったのか？ 
違う。 

4） 特定された艇はレース 7 で 20 % のペナルティーを（レース委員会により）得

点記録されるべきであったのか？ 
そうではない。 

5） ジュリーが救済の要求に応じてレース 7 を中止した場合には、回答は異なるの

か？ 
艇に救済の権利が与える場合には、影響を受けたすべての艇に対する最も公平

な調整が完了したレースを中止することであるとプロテスト委員会が判決す

ることはまずないことは、本パネル・メンバーの経験である。この状況で、レ

ースがあって、レース委員会は艇すべてのフィニッシュを確認した。たいてい

のプロテスト員会は、最も公平な調整は違反している艇に次のレースで規則

30.2 のペナルティーを適用して記録することを命令することであると判決す

るであろう。 

6) レース委員会が、規則 32.1 に記載されている事項を考慮後陸上にて（すなわ

ち、レース完了後）そのレースを中止した場合には、回答は異なるのか？ 
このようなレース委員会の決定は、艇による救済の要求の理由となることがあ

り、プロテスト委員会により見直される。 

有効期限：2008 年 2 月 1 日 


